Well, Its Just A Simple Song …..

Well this is just a simple song
To say what you done

Lately this song is haunting me , everyday is like a mandatory for me to play this song in my car. Its from The Shins with tittle Simple Song ! The theme of this song is actually super simple like ordinary life but as a woman who loves to play with words and rhymes , i do in love with the way they make the lyrics super ALIVE !

At firs i heard this song from How I Met Your Mother , i have a love and hate relationship with this series , REALLY ! hahahah sometimes i love the way the teach me simple things in life that i might have missed but sometimes I hate it when it did not meet my expectations hahahaha… Well lets discuss more about #HIMYM later. Back to Simple song by The Shins. I did feel goosebumps (sorry if its too much but really goosebumps). This song was played at the end of Season 8 , when the remarkable Cristin Miloti appeared as The Mother ! I do love how the song really able to emphasize emotional moment from final episode of season 8. its like a new beginning is started for everybody who has baggage in their past.

The Shins itself is actually an old indie rock band from New Mexico that has formed since 1996 but they hit their success by entering a mainstream world with their song New Slang ! New Slang is one of soundtrack from Garden State – directed by Zac Braf  (Again it is one of the best movie for me , sorry 500 Days of Summer , i think Garden State is way more edgy than you hahahah). Well, with this indie movie, The Shins also transformed to be one of the hottest Indie- Rock band in the USA back then 2004 and they continue their success by continuing producing songs for motion picture. Enough about The Shins , we will get back to the SIMPLE SONG itself !

The Shins , new format 2014
The Shins , new format 2014 (Source : The Shins Official Website)

I really want to talk about the meaning and some paradox in this song. Below is the song lyrics :

Well this is just a simple song
To say what you done
I told you about all those fears
And away they did run
You sure must be strong
And you feel like an ocean
Being warmed by the sun

When I was just nine years old
I swear that I dreamt
Your face on a football field
And a kiss that I kept
Under my vest
Apart from everything, but the heart in my chest

I know that things can really get rough when you go it alone
Don’t go thinking you gotta be tough, to play like a stone
Could be there’s nothing else in our lives so critical
As this little home!

My life in an upturned boat, marooned on a cliff
You brought me a great big flood
And you gave me a lift
To care, what a gift
You tell me with your tongue
And your breath was in my lungs
And you float over the rift

I know that things can really get rough when you go it alone
Don’t go thinking you gotta be tough, to play like a stone
Could be there’s nothing else in our lives so critical
As this little home!

Well this will be a simple song to say what you’ve done
I told you about all those fears and away they did run
You sure must be strong
And you feel like an ocean
Being warmed by the sun

Remember walking a mile to your house, a glow in the dark
I made a fumblin’ play for your heart and the act struck a spark
You wore a charm in a chain that I stole especially for you
Love’s such a delicate thing that we do, with nothing to prove
Which I never knew

I do some googling about The Shins and found out that James Mercer (The Shins Leader) says that he wrote it on the living room floor of his apartment when his wife and I were newlyweds.. This song was a personal song for him which describe her love life with his wife.  At the beginning , James said clearly ->”Well this is just a simple song to say what you done ! “Its definitely telling people hows life changing by meeting his wife. No wonder How I Met Your Mother used this song as The Mother song. Its not only because the rhythm and  music but the lyrics and story are perfect to reflect the scene. How’s Ted Mosby life will be change with someone and at the end he could said the same thing to her like James said, “Well this is just a simple song to say what you done”

At the beginning of this article i have said well the meaning its truly simple ! Its Love people , everybody are talking about love loud and clear, everything for love and blablabla .. hahahaha… But the way The Shins deliver it is so freakin genius..

I know that things can really get rough when you go it alone. Don’t go thinking you gotta be tough, to play like a stone
Could be there’s nothing else in our lives so critical as this little home!

It slapped my face , i always remember that sometimes human are very good in pretending , pretending to be strong , pretending to be dependable while very rare people who wants to admit that i am vulnerable , even with their love one. This song remind us to remember its okay to be weak , its okay to be soft like a cotton when you have hope with people that you love. So many couples that i saw even myself before , wants to be the perfect figure for their partner but the thing is sharing your darkest moment will be one of the part to make your relationship stronger. The art of being vulnerable.

Lyrics

Love’s such a delicate thing that we do, with nothing to prove
Which I never knew

Well this is my most favourite part 🙂 I just love they use word Delicate ! Delicate not usually used as an adjective to describe love , people use to use word fragile, vulnerable or etc but well eventually love is delicate right ?! I definitely agree with the statement  , nothing to prove ! Sharing love is a natural thing. We already know that Love is easy to be broken , yes again is a delicate thing but what to prove ?! Its not about desire to prove something , its just love and how we live with it. Love is simple as being together and saving each other from cliff of our life.

Love is more to live with it than saying much of it. Why people so frustrated sometimes to push their partner to say , please love me or please show that you care for me. Well, accompany your boyfriend watching a geek movie like starwars (even- though you hate it so much) and try to enjoy it and make him happy that you’re trying to know his world  , for me its showing love. Its better that a text message , you know i love you everyday  or calling your boyfriend constantly just to know where he is … hahahahaha

Now , i am still listening some songs from The Shins start fro their newest EP , Port of Morrow , Oh, Invented Word..

So many songs that able to make me feel creepy, happy, even frustrated hahaha.. Well , musician is a poet with their lyrics. For you who wants to listen The Shins songs, you can go to soundcloud (click here) to listen first then download it in iTunes

Enjoy and remember Love is just a delicate thing  that we do with nothing to prove 😀

Leave a comment