Back to the Sixties: Part 1 – Beach Boys 50th Anniversary Concert

As mentioned before on my Passion Pit concert review, last August 2012, I also watched my FAVOURITE BAND all time, The Beach Boys!!

50 years Anniversary Beach Boys Tickets
My Passion Pit and Beach Boys Concert Tickets !

A lot of people love The Beatles so much, I also like them but for me the most interesting band is still The Beach Boys! I am in love with Beach Boys since I was in elementary school by listened to their song, Surfin USA and continue to explore the music until now.

A short brief about The Beach Boys  – Formed in 1961 by The Wilson Brothers, they were famous for their vocal harmonies and California fun nuance that embedded in most of their songs. Like others music group, they found ups and downs during their performances year – Brian Wilson as the leader of the group also has left the band and then reunite again. I was surprised that they reunited again to di 50 Anniversary concert and Singapore was on the list !! Lucky me it was the next day after Passion Pit concert so I can see them !! Even I should watch it alone by myself because my friends are not a big fan of them!

The venue of the concert was Singapore Indoor Stadium! I love it, it was big, classy and also has a lot of access. I watched Beach Boys alone by myself, and thanks God i met some interesting people during the concert so i can dance together with them..

disney girls
beach boys

Gezzz, The show WAS AWESOME !!! i cant believe that they really show a super great performances, vocal harmony and stage act!! The opening show was Do It Again then continued by Catch A Wave, Surfin Safari , Surfer Girl ! Frankly speaking my fav moment was when they performed Disney Girls .. Oh how i love that song so much.. I got goose bumps and suddenly my eyes feels warm and wet, yess it was tears.. hahahahaha… i know its too much but i really touched by that song, the harmony, the sweetness of the melody .. this song was made by Bruce Johnston and he sang it very well. Bruce’s voice was amazing, so soft and also gave a great soul to that song !

and i sang it together with them :

All my life I spent the night
With dreams of you
And the warmth I missed
And for the things I wished
They’re all coming true

my mind also fly away with that song…it was a beautiful moment🙂

This concert was divided into 2 session , i must admit that session 2 is better because most of the Top Song is on the list

How romantic was that show, i saw old granpa and grandma holding hands, dance and sing together even i heard the grandma said to her husband, its been a while since you took me to dance, now thanks for this night, pap ! in my mind, i would like to see another band able to do such thing, i mean that band will last forever so went i grow old , i am still able to enjoy the music and reminiscing the old moment – watching the concert with my love one🙂

They closed their performances with 3 encore songs : Kokomo, Good Vibration and Fun Fun Fun (All of these was superb!! )

Thanks a lot The Beach Boys, i bravely said that this is the best concert in my life. I cant believe i am able to see a Music Legend , a very great band that inspired The Beatles and more band in this world …

If you want to see the song list , herewith i attached it for you :

50 years beach boys concert
Beach Boys from my view

SESSION 1

“Do It Again”
“Catch A Wave”
“Don’t Back Down”
“Surfin’ Safari”
“Surfer Girl”
“The Little Girl I Once Knew”
“Wendy”
“Then He Kissed Me” (Phil Spector/The Crystals)
“This Whole World”
“Why Do Fools Fall in Love” (Frankie Lymon and the Teenagers)
“When I Grow Up (To Be a Man)”
“You’re So Good to Me”
“In Them Old Cottonfields Back Home”
“Be True to Your School”
“Disney Girls”
“Please Let Me Wonder”
“Don’t Worry Baby”
“Little Honda”
“Little Deuce Coupe”
“409”
“Shut Down”
“I Get Around”

SESSION 2 :
“Sloop John B”
“Wouldn’t It Be Nice”
“Forever”
“Sail On Sailor”
“Heroes and Villains”
“In My Room”
“All This Is That”
“God Only Knows”
“That’s Why God Made the Radio”
“California Dreaming” (The Mamas and the Papas)
“California Girls”
“Dance Dance Dance”
“All Summer Long”
“Help Me Rhonda”
“Rock and Roll Music” (Chuck Berry)
“Barbara Ann”
“Surfin’ U.S.A.”

Encore:
“Kokomo”
“Good Vibrations”
“Fun Fun Fun”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

